Ukrainian architectural modern - a distinctive child of the 20th century

Ukrainian architecture is original and lively, "warm" and plastic, formed in difficult and always saturated historical realities. Its sound - subtle and confident, we hear from modern architectural ensembles of Ukrainian cities. Today, Ukrainian architecture is undoubtedly going through a Renaissance era - reborn like a phoenix from the Stalinist Empire style and Khrushchev's replication. We were fortunate enough to witness a completely new time, the birth of a new era. But no less important is our architectural heritage - a striking representative of which is Ukrainian architectural modern.

We can consider 1903 as the date of birth of Ukrainian architectural modern - it was then that the architect Krichevsky presented the project of the Poltava Provincial Zemstvo. The style, which had no name at that time and differed from current architectural trends, was called pseudo-Moorish. But with the light hand of the Ukrainian artist Athanasius Slastion, got it`s name - the Ukrainian style, and then the Ukrainian modern. Krichevsky laid the foundations of the UAM - the architecture is based on folk traditions of home and church building - which greatly annoyed the ruling emperor Nicholas II. The building has an W-shape, its facades are decorated with the coats of arms of the county towns of the province. Today the local lore museum is located in the premises of the zemstvo.

The real diamond of Ukrainian culture - Ukrainian architecture - for centuries existed separately from the architecture of cities. But already in the XIX century architects are beginning to draw inspiration from it, transferring folk art to urban architecture. The result of a rationalistic search in folk architecture was the school named in I. P. Kotlyarevsky, built in Poltava in 1906. Designed by architects E. N. Serdyuk and M. F. Stasyukov. This is the first memorial school in Ukraine dedicated to the outstanding figure of Ukrainian culture. The building was L-shaped, the first floor was made of bricks, the second was made of wood, lined with bricks. The building burned down during the Second World War, and after it was dismantled.

Almost simultaneously with the building of the zemstvo and the school, a church was erected in the village of Plishivtsi, designed by the architect Kuznetsov. All nine chapters of the church pass from rectangles into octahedrons and taper upwards proportionally, while the walls are laid with a slope inward. The Church of the Intercession is the progenitor of the Ukrainian neo-baroque, an artistic reproduction of Ukrainian folk architecture.

Since 1903, UAN has been gaining momentum at the same time in almost all regions. Slastion formulates its basic principles and contributes to the spread of the style on the territory of Ukraine. The Ukrainian creative intelligentsia and student elite organize communities for the study of Ukrainian folk architecture, including illegal ones - the imperialist government was categorically not satisfied with any manifestations of nationalism. Students go to villages and make sketches of houses, churches and sheds. In Kharkiv, the Ukrainian Art and Architecture Department is being formed - the purpose of which is not only to preserve the monuments of Ukraine and the restoration of folk architecture, but also to spread the Ukrainian architectural style. Ilya Repin became the honorary chairman of the circle.

Afanasy Slastion
Ilya Repin
Vasily Krichevsky

The Ukrainian style is becoming more and more confidently established in mass culture - a large number of publications appear in not only thematic but also entertainment magazines. UAFM is the answer of architecture to modern demands, to the new rhythm of life of the new century. Before the revolution, UAFM was gaining momentum - intense and picturesque decor, folk motives and a bright imprint of architecture.

In 1911, in Kharkov, the architect Serdyuk designs the building of an agricultural selection station - one of the few buildings that have survived to this day. Today it houses the Institute of Plant Industry. V. Ya. Yuriev National Academy of Agrarian Sciences of Ukraine.

Designing the building of the Central Railway Station in Kiev, the architect Verbitsky tried to make it a prominent representative of the UAM and the Ukrainian baroque. But in the process of construction, the project changed a lot under the influence of the doctrines of the Soviet system, and as a result, the elements of the UAM were used only partially. The building was erected in the period 1928-1932.

In Kharkov, the cradle of Ukrainian Art Nouveau, the unique building of the Art School, built in 1912 by the project of the architect Zhukov, has survived to this day. Its first director was Repin's student, Alexander Lyubimov.

One of the most valuable gems of Ukrainian Art Nouveau is the Khrennikov House, built in the Dnieper by architects Fetisov and Khoinovsky. The building was reconstructed after the fire, but now it has retained the distinctive features of the original Ukrainian architectural style.

A breakdown occurred after the Revolution - many leaders ended up either in exile or repressed. UAFM goes into the "underground" - hiding its catchiness under the face of rationalism and constructivism. 1941 can be considered the official year of completion of this distinctive architectural style, although some architects continue to use its elements in their works. The Soviet government made a lot of efforts to erase the trace of Ukrainian modernism from the pages of history, but many architectural monuments are still preserved.

If we talk about the distinctive features of the UAFM, its "markers" and "anchors" among similar styles of Modernism and Ukrainian Baroque, the following can be distinguished:

  • Volumetric composition - as a response to folk traditions of home and church building. Houses are U-shaped, L-shaped, W-shaped.
  • Wall Composition - Many ways to solve a wall. Smooth walls were used along with tiered walls.
  • Composition of the window - the use of hexagonal, trapezoidal windows (especially in the Western Ukrainian currents of the UAM). Rectangular windows, arched windows with a semicircular or eleptic top. Twin trapezoidal windows, windows with niches.
  • Portals - as the main compositional element.
  • Pincers and pediments - their shapes testified to belonging to the UAF movement or reflected the influence of other styles.
  • Roofs - high, with a steep slope and complex plastic, as well as hipped roofs.

The legacy of the UAFM is not only in history textbooks, but also in its influence on modern architecture. Much was destroyed by the war, Soviet power and improper restoration, but much remained as a gift to future generations. Ukrainian Art Nouveau is the architectural response of its time, the music of the beginning of the century frozen in stone and wood, it is a cultural trace and a milestone in the development of Ukrainian architecture. Our task is not only to make a new history, but also to preserve these historical monuments for future generations.

Украинский архитектурный модерн – самобытный ребенок XX столетия

Украинская архитектура – самобытная и живая, «теплая» и пластичная, сформировавшаяся в непростых и всегда насыщенных исторических реалиях. Ее звук – тонкий и уверенный, слышится нам из современных архитектурных ансамблей украинских городов. Сегодня украинская архитектура, безусловно, переживает эпоху ренессанса – возрождаясь, как феникс, из сталинского ампира и хрущевского тиражирования. Нам посчастливилось быть свидетелями совершенно нового времени, рождения новой эпохи. Но не менее важным является наше архитектурное наследство – ярким представителем которого является украинский модерн.

Датой рождения украинского модерна мы можем считать 1903 год – именно тогда архитектор Кричевский представил проект Полтавского губернского земства. Стиль, который тогда не имел названия и отличался от текущих архитектурных тенденций, был назван псевдо-мавританским. Но с легкой руки украинского художника Афанасия Сластиона получил свое имя – украинский стиль, а далее и украинский модерн. Кричевский заложил базисы УАМ – в основе архитектуры лежат народные традиции домашнего и церковного строительства – чем значительно раздосадовал правящего императора Николая Второго. Здание имеет Ш-образную форму, его фасады украшены гербами уездных городов губернии. Сегодня в помещении земства находится краеведческий музей.

Настоящий алмаз украинской культуры – украинское зодчество – столетиями существовал отдельно от архитектуры городов. Но уже в XIX ст. архитекторы начинают черпать в нем вдохновение, перенося народное творчество в урбанистическую архитектуру. Результатом рационалистического поиска в народной архитектуре стала школа им. И. П. Котляревского, построенная в Полтаве в 1906 г. По проекту архитекторов Е. Н. Сердюка и М. Ф. Стасюкова. Это первая в Украине мемориальная школа, посвященная выдающемуся деятелю украинской культуры. Здание имело Г-образную форму, первый этаж был выполнен из кирпича, второй из дерева, обложенного кирпичом. Здание сгорело во время Второй мировой войны, а после нее было разобрано.

Почти одновременно со зданием земства и школы была возведена церковь в селе Плишивцы, по проекту архитектора Кузнецова. Все девять глав церкви с прямоугольников переходят в восьмигранники и пропорционально суживаются кверху, кладка стен же при этом идет с наклоном внутрь. Покровская церковь – это прародитель украинского нео-барокко, художественное воспроизведение украинского народного зодчества.

С 1903 года УАН набирает стремительные обороты одновременно почти во всех регионах. Сластион формулирует его основные принципы и способствует распространению стиля на территории Украины. Украинская творческая интеллигенция и студенческая элита организует сообщества по изучению украинской народной архитектуры, в том числе нелегальные – империалистическую власть категорически не устраивали любые проявления национализма. Студенты ходят по селам и делают эскизы хат, церквей и сараев. В Харькове формируется Украинский художественно-архитектурный отдел – целью которого становится не только сохранение памятников Украины и восстановление народного зодчества, но также и распространение украинского архитектурного стиля. Почетным председателем кружка стал сам Илья Репин.

Афанасий Сластион
Илья Репин
Василий Кричевский

Украинский стиль все увереннее утверждается в массовой культуре – появляется большое число публикаций в журналах не только тематических, но и развлекательных. УАМ – это ответ архитектуры современным запросам, новому ритму жизни нового столетия. До революции УАМ набирает стремительные обороты – интенсивный и живописный декор, народные мотивы и яркий отпечаток зодчества.

В 1911 году в Харькове архитектор Сердюк проектирует здание сельскохозяйственной селекционной станции – одна из немногих построек, сохранившихся до наших дней. Сегодня тут находится Институт растениеводства им. В.Я. Юрьева Национальной академии аграрных наук Украины.

Проектируя здание Центрального Железнодорожного вокзала Киева, архитектор Вербицкий стремился сделать его ярким представителем УАМ и украинского барокко. Но в процессе постройки проект множественно менялся под влиянием доктрин советской системы, и в итоге элементы УАМ использовались лишь частично. Здание возводилось в период 1928-1932 гг.

В Харькове, колыбели украинского модерна, до наших дней сохранилось уникальное здание Художественного училища, построенного в 1912 году по проекту архитектора Жукова. Первым его директором стал ученик Репина – Александр Любимов.

Одной из ценнейших жемчужин украинского модерна является Дом Хренникова, построенный в Днепре архитекторами Фетисовым и Хойновским. Здание реконструировалось после пожара, однако и сейчас сохранило отличительные черты самобытного украинского архитектурного стиля.

Надлом произошел после Революции – многие деятели оказались или в эмиграции, или репрессированы. УАМ уходит в так называемое «подполье» - спрятав свою броскость под лик рационализма и конструктивизма. 1941 год можно считать официальным годом завершения этого самобытного архитектурного стиля, хотя некоторые архитекторы продолжают использовать его элементы в своих работах. Советская власть приложила немало усилий к стиранию следа украинского модернизма со страниц истории, однако многие памятники архитектуры по-прежнему сохранены.

Если говорить об отличительных чертах УАМ, его «маркерах» и «якорях» среди схожих стилей модерн и украинское барокко, то можно выделить следующие:

  • Объемная композиция – как отклик народных традиций домашнего и церковного строительства. Дома П-образной, Г-образной, Ш-образной форм.
  • Композиция стены – множества способов решения стены. Гладкие стены использовались наравне с ярусными.
  • Композиция окна – применение шестиугольных, трапеционных окон (особенно в западноукраинских течениях УАМ). Прямоугольные окна, арковые окна с полукруглым или элептическим верхом. Спаренные трапеционные окна, окна с нишами.
  • Порталы – как главный композиционный элемент.
  • Щипцы и фронтоны – их формы свидетельствовали о принадлежности к течению УАМ или отражали влияние других стилей.
  • Крыши – высокие, с крутым скосом и сложной пластикой, а также шатровидные крыши.

Наследие УАМ – не только в учебниках истории, но и во влиянии на современную архитектуру. Многое было разрушено войной, советской властью и неправильной реставрацией, однако многое осталось в подарок следующим поколениям. Украинский модерн – это архитектурный ответ своего времени, застывшая в камне и дереве музыка начала столетия, это культурный след и веха развития украинской архитектуры. Наша задача – не только вершить новую историю, но и сохранять эти исторические памятники для следующих поколений.