Boiserie - history and modernity of wooden panels

YourFoRest panels follow high standards of comfort and wood paneling aesthetics while having a modern and unique look. Eco-friendly wood-centered design is a trend with a bright and interesting history.

3D Rack Panel by YourFoRest
Batten Plank Panel by YourFoRest

Batten Plank Panel by YourFoRest

Ancient Egyptians were the first to decorate their houses with wooden panels. It is dated back to the third millennium BC. Ancient Egypt architecture is baroque, massive, and effort-intensive. The walls of tombs and palaces of pharaohs were decorated with paintings, sculptures, wooden panels, and precious metal coverings. The pharaohs' architects exploited valuable imported wood (ebony wood from Central Africa, Lebanese cedar from North Africa). They decorated it with carvings and paintings.


Pharaoh Tutankhamun on a chariot. Wood painting. The Egyptian Museum in Cairo, XIV century BC


Tomb of Ramses, Valley of the Kings

The wood panels as known today originated in medieval Europe. Boiserie is a French word meaning "wood paneling". We can trace the time French architects came up with their new design vision – the Château de Chenonceau (1530) has no boiserie yet while the Château de Chambord (1680s), the Château de Cheverny (1650) and the Palace of Versailles (1660-1680) are full of it.

Chambord Castle, France

Wooden decoration became possible with the development of domestic heating—iron chimneys significantly reduced fire hazards. In the 18th century, with the advent of the steam heating age, Boiserie reaches its heyday. The panels originally used for heat insulation and moisture control became decorative elements. The panels were used not only for walls, but also for doors, frames, cabinets, shelves, mirrors and fireplaces.

The Château de Cheverny, France
The Château de Cheverny, France

Promoted by Louis XIV, boiserie turned into a sign of luxury, a symbol of power and success—not a mere practical and decorative piece. Wooden panels were enriched with tapestries, paintings, embossed leather, and inlays made of fabric and precious metals. The Louvre and Versailles, classic Parisian residences and the pearls of world architecture, preserved the first luxury boiseries. France set a global trend, and the boiseries moved to English, German, Russian noble houses and to the rich estates in Spanish colonies in Mexico and Cuba.

Versailles, France

That was the beginning of a classic English study clad with wood panels from floor to ceiling. However, practical and concise English people put French gloss under English restraint – so wainscot paneling was born. Wainscot style as a type of wall decoration implied covering the lower third of the wall with oak panels. Even poor families could afford this type of cladding. Wainscot paneling was used not only for decorative purposes, but also for practical ones—it provided extra moisture and thermal insulation since the premises were heated only by fireplaces.


Traditional English study


White wainscot panels in the interior

The internationalization of boiseries modified them to suit the taste of each new country. Refined Italian people decorated the ceilings with wood paneling, pretentious French people practiced decorating the actual panels while democratic Americans simplified and standardized the interior panels. The result was another, the most concise wall covering – "dado rail". Dado rails are fixed to the wall. The height is derived from the height of the chair backs so that they do not come into contact with the wall. The thicker covering material belongs to the lower part of the wall to protect it against wiping, splashing and damage.


Stairs decorated with a dado rail


Stairs decorated with a dado rail

It is easy to find examples of luxury boiseries in Ukrainian architecture—just visit the houses of aristocrats and industrialists of XVI-XIX centuries.


Tereshchenko Mansion, Kyiv


Khanenko House, Kyiv

Manor in Kachanovka
House with Chimaeras, Kyiv


Mariyinsky palace, Kyiv

The main purpose of wall panels in a modern interior is to decorate the space, give it an interesting look, and add textures. Panels may keep furniture out of sight, divide space into zones, decorate niches, mask secret rooms and corridors. In modern design there are several main types of wall panels:

  • Solid panels. They are made of ash, maple, beech, cedar, oak, and walnut. They are installed only in dry rooms – offices, living rooms, bedrooms.
  • Veneer panels. They are less sensitive to changes in temperature. This is a budget option.
  • Modular panels. This is a popular type. They are often made of planks or tiles. A 3D effect can be achieved due to height, thickness, and toning. This wood decoration is quite customizable.
  • Plywood panels. These panels made of flexible wooden sheets are typically used for decorating columns and arches.


Fence Panel with integrated lighting. YourFoRest


The variety of ways to embellish panels allow us to create a unique design that meets the needs of various interiors. The main types of decoration include:

  • Various types of lacquer finishing
  • Stain or paint finishing
  • Intarsia—wood inlaying
  • Patination
  • Painting
  • Inlay—the ornate decoration of a surface with the materials that differ from the material of the surface (mother-of-pearl, marble, porcelain, etc.)
  • Marquetry—inlaid work made from veneer pieces
  • Wood carving or gilded wood carving
  • Silver or ivory applique
  • Fabric, tapestry, leather covering


Mosaic Pixels Panel by YourFoRest

Batten Curtain Panel by YourFoRest
Mosaic Honey Panel by YourFoRest

YourFoRest gives designers and customers the ultimate freedom of expression in its projects. Solid, veneer and modular panels become reality in the hands of our experts.

Wood panel—natural ash veneered MDF,
floating carved pattern covered with golden patina.
Custom design by YourFoRest
Ash wood panel, intarsia.
Custom design by YourFoRest

Буазери – история и современность деревянных панелей

YourFoRest воплощает в своих панелях высокие стандарты комфорта и эстетики деревянной обшивки, сохраняя ее современность и уникальность. Экологичный дизайн, в котором преобладает дерево – тренд, имеющий яркую и интересную историю.

Панель 3D Rack, изготовлено YourFoRest
Панель Batten Plank, изготовлено YourFoRest

Панель Batten Plank, изготовлено YourFoRest

Впервые украшать деревянными панелями свои жилища начали еще древние египтяне в третьем тысячелетии до н.э. Архитектура Древнего Египта – вычурная, массивная и трудозатратная. Стены гробниц и дворцов фараонов украшались росписями и скульптурами, декорировались деревянными панелями и накладками из драгоценных металлов. Архитекторы фараонов использовали ценное привозное дерево (эбеновое из Центральной Африки, ливанский кедр из Северной Африки), украшали его резьбой и росписью.


Фараон Тутанхамон на колеснице. Роспись по дереву. Египетский музей в Каире, XIV век до н.э.


Гробница Рамзеса, Долина Царей

В том виде, в котором мы знаем стеновые панели сейчас – они возникли в средневековой Европе. Буазери (Boiserie) в переводе с французского означает «обшивка деревом». Мы можем отследить хронологию дизайнерской мысли французских архитекторов – еще в замке Шенонсо (1530-е) буазери нет, а в замках Шамбор (1680-е), Шиверни (1650-е) и в Версале (1660–1680-е) они встречаются повсеместно.

Замок Шамбор, Франция

Внедрение деревянного декорирования стало возможным благодаря прогрессу в отоплении домов - железные дымоходы значительно снижали вероятность пожаров. В 18 в. с наступлением эры парового отопления Буазери достигает своего расцвета. Панели, которые изначально использовались для теплоизоляции стен и защиты помещения от сырости начали выполнять в большей степени декоративную функцию. Панелями стали декорировать не только стены, но и двери, рамы, шкафы, полки, обрамляли зеркала и камины.

Замок Шеверни, Франция
Замок Шеверни, Франция

Из практичного и декоративного элемента с легкой руки Людовика XIV Буазери превращается в элемент роскоши, символ власти и успеха. Деревянные панели стали украшать гобеленами, картинами и тисненной кожей, вставками из ткани и драгоценных металлов. Лувр и Версаль, классические парижские квартиры – жемчужины мировой архитектуры, сохранившиеся первые роскошные буазери. Франция задала всемирный тренд, и Буазери перекочевали в аристократические дома Англии, Германии, России, в богатые усадьбы Испанских колоний Мексики и Кубы.

Версаль, Франция

Так возник классический английский кабинет, от пола и до потолка зашитый деревянными панелями. Однако англичане с присущей им практичностью и лаконичностью интерпретировали французский лоск под английскую сдержанность – так появился Вайнскот. Wainscot – вид декорирования стены, когда дубовыми панелями зашивалась нижняя треть стены. Такой вид обшивки могли себе позволить и небогатые дома – Вайнскот выполняли не только декоративную, но и практичную функцию влаго и теплоизоляции стен, поскольку помещения отапливались лишь каминами.


Классический английский кабинет


Белые панели Вайнскот в интерьере

Интернационализация Буазери видоизменила их под вкус каждой новой страны. Изысканные итальянцы декорировали деревянными панелями потолки, вычурные французы упражнялись в декорировании самих панелей, а демократичные американцы упрощали и стандартизировали интерьерные панели. Так появился еще один, наиболее лаконичный вид обшивки стен – “dado rail“. Дадо – настенная рейка, высота которой продиктована высотой спинок стульев, чтобы те не терлись об стену. Нижнюю часть стены покрывают более плотным декором, чем верхнюю – для защиты от обтирания, брызг и повреждений.


Дадо в отделке лесницы


Дадо в отделке лесницы

В украинской архитектуре несложно найти примеры роскошных буазери – стоит совершить путешествие по домам аристократов и промышленников 16-19 ст.


Особняк Терещенко, Киев


Дом Ханенко, Киев

Усадьба в Качановке
Дом с Химерами, Киев


Мариинский дворец, Киев

Главная цель стеновых панелей в современном интерьере – украсить пространство, придать ему визуальный интерес, а поверхностям придать фактурность. За панелями можно прятать мебель, зонировать ими пространство, декорировать ниши, скрывать потайные комнаты и коридоры. В современном дизайне существует несколько основных видов стеновых панелей:

  • Крупноформатные – изготавливаются из ясеня, клена, бука, кедра, дуба, ореха. Применяются только в сухих помещениях – кабинеты, гостиные, спальни.
  • Шпонированные – лучше переносят перепады температур, являются более бюджетным вариантом.
  • Модульные – популярный вид панелей, зачастую выполняется из наборных реек или плиток. Можно придавать 3д-эффект за счет высоты , толщины и тонирования. Пластичный вид декорирования деревом.
  • Листовые – собираются из гибких листов древесины, обычно облицовывают колонны и арки.


Панель Fence со встроенным освещением, изготовлено YourFoRest


Множество видов декорирования панелей позволяет создать уникальный дизайн, отвечающий требованиям различных интерьеров. К основным видам декорирования можно отнести:

  • Различные виды лакировки
  • Варианты покраски
  • Интарсия - инкрустация деревом по дереву
  • Патинирование
  • Роспись
  • Инкрустация – украшение поверхности узорами, выполненными из отличного от поверхности материала (перламутра, мрамора, фарфора и пр.)
  • Маркетри – инкрустация шпоном
  • Резьба или резьба с золочением
  • Аппликация серебром или слоновой костью
  • Затягивание тканью, гобеленом, кожей


Панель Mosaic Pixels, изготовлено YourFoRest

Панель Batten Curtain, изготовлено YourFoRest
Панель Mosaic Honey, изготовлено YourFoRest

YourFoRest в своих проектах реализует самые смелые идеи дизайнеров и заказчиков. Крупноформатные, шпонированные и наборные панели с любым дизайном воплощаются в жизнь нашими мастерами.

Деревянная панель – шпонированный натуральным ясенем мдф,
накладной резной узор покрыт золотой патиной,
индивидуальный проект, изготовлено YourFoRest
Деревянная панель из ясеня, интарсия,
индивидуальный проект, изготовлено YourFoRest